Global Horizon Program

Focus on internationalisation

The KIT start-up story goes to the next level – “Convincing Internationally”. The programme for the strategic internationalisation of start-up promotion aims to make KIT the most important interface between technology start-ups from southwest Germany and global markets.

Where are we going?

Why are we doing this?

GHPro aims to increase the number and quality of start-ups with an international orientation, be it through e.g. the origin, the teams, the partners or the markets. To this end, the national offer of the KIT- Gründerschmiede is being strategically supplemented and internationally expanded. Close co-operation and collaboration with excellent regional partners creates a cluster that combines enormous technological and infrastructural potential with a large talent pool. In international competition, this increases visibility vis-à-vis major metropolises such as San Francisco, Toronto, Singapore, London and the German metropolises. With the KIT-Gründerschmiede and GHPro, KIT not only has an internationally visible radiance, but is at the same time an active facilitator and amplifier of the regional start-up economy.

Who are we doing this with?

Initiative „DeepTech Startup Hub SouthWest“

Regional partners include, in particular, the internationally recognised universities of Heidelberg and Mannheim from the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region as well as the local universities and partners of the Gründerallianz Karlsruhe.

 

In addition, KIT has numerous strategic industrial partners such as ABB, BASF, BOSCH, Daimler, SAP or Zeiss, some of which run their own international accelerator and incubator programmes and are looking for co-operation. Building on this broad regional base, international alliances are being formed to support the development of DeepTech start-ups and the exchange “in both directions”. The development and establishment of the DeepTechHub is explicitly supported and promoted by the EXIST programme of the BMWi.

01

Inbound

These offers are aimed at international start-ups and start-ups who want to get to know Germany as a location for start-ups, are looking for points of contact in the industry or simply want to conquer the German market with their product. We build bridges, put people in touch with each other and help with our know-how to make it easier for start-ups to get off the ground here in Germany.

Accelerator

Soft Landing

International start-ups can get to know KIT, the start-up ecosystem in Karlsruhe, the DeepTechHub and Baden-Württemberg at an early stage. The focus is on an initial examination of the business model and technology. At the same time, you will learn about the advantages of settling in Germany and the associated funding and financing opportunities.

Learn more
Accelerator

ACCEL

Is your start-up looking for accelerators that are individually tailored to your needs, regionally or internationally? Then come to ACCEL. Our focus is on middle- and later-stage accelerators that provide targeted support in scaling the business model and financing the company.

Learn more
Mediation

CO-EVOLUTIONARY START-UP

Often foreign companies have few chances of success in the European market due to lack of size, language barriers and cultural differences. Here, foreign companies can establish an independent subsidiary or a joint venture by means of a moderated process and with the involvement of local academics and students.

Learn more
02

Outbound

Start-ups from the KIT or KIT environment want to relocate abroad with their company, open another location or, for example, conquer the American, Asian or Indian market – we are happy to support you in this exciting and complex development step. See which offer suits you best here and if you don’t find one, please write to us directly.

Accelerator

ACCEL

The ACCEL module addresses the categories inbound and outbound in one dimension. Here, a concept is developed and implemented on how KIT can best place regional and international start-ups with middle- and later-stage accelerators. For international expansion, we work closely with selected partner accelerators.

Learn more
Accelerator

Soft Landing

Similar to Soft Landing-Inbound, we offer regionally based start-ups the opportunity to get to know incubators at international partner universities and the respective international market at an early stage. In concrete terms, regional start-ups are supported in positioning themselves internationally at an early stage and identifying internationally scalable business models.

03

Offers from the KIT

Here you will find exciting programmes, events and accelerators especially for KIT students as well as KIT scientists and KIT employees.

Event

JOINT ENTREPRENEURSHIP SCHOOL (JES)

The Joint Entrepreneurship School (JES) is an exchange programme for KIT students and is run by EnTechnon. As part of the already established JES, students from KIT and Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) have the opportunity to work together on projects in an intercultural environment.

Learn more
Competition

GROW

You want to start-up, develop your own ideas and make them successful? You are already working on a project, but something is missing to really get started? Then apply to GROW and grow beyond yourself.

Learn more
Seminar

Student Innovation Labs (SIL)

Are you studying and interested in the topic of applied innovation management? Then become part of SIL: two semesters of seminar and lab, from the idea to the demonstrator.

Learn more
Accelerator

upCAT

You already have an idea for your own company and need a boost to make it a reality? Then our start-up catalyst upCAT is the right place for you. This accelerator is open to employees of partner universities and especially to international guest researchers. Apply now!

Learn more
04

Extras

Here you will find exciting events and trade fairs at which you can present your start-up or simply be there as a guest and meet interesting network partners or business contacts.

Fair

Viva Technology Paris 2022

Together with our German-French partners, we have had a large joint booth at Viva Technology in Paris for the last three years. As a KIT start-up, you have the opportunity to be part of Viva Technology in 2022 together with us. Apply now.

Who accompanies us?

Our project partners

EXIST

EXIST is a funding programme of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). The aim is to improve the start-up climate at universities and non-university research institutions and to increase the number and success of technology-oriented and knowledge-based start-ups.

German Accelerator

German Accelerator empowers German start-ups to scale globally. We take high-potential companies on a fast-paced learning journey in some of the world’s leading innovation centres.

Gründermotor

In the Gründermotor Master Class, each team develops its business model into a scalable and investable start-up. The master class brings together start-ups, corporates and academia to shape the founder personalities and growth companies of tomorrow.

GERMAN ENTREPRENEURSHIP

GERMAN ENTREPRENEURSHIP promotes innovation in companies of all sizes – from DAX-listed corporations to medium-sized enterprises to start-ups (more than 730 start-ups accompanied). They run well-known accelerator programmes such as the German Accelerator and we help companies set up their own corporate accelerators.

Frauenhofer Venture

Fraunhofer Venture is responsible for the spin-off and investment management of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V. – Europe’s largest institution for applied research. We develop successful start-ups from world-class high tech and bring innovations to market.

regional platform
Gründerallianz

The Gründerallianz is the community of all the players who have standing and name in the entrepreneurship sector in Karlsruhe. As a regional platform, it bundles all offers and information for people interested in founding a company.

Softlanding South America
ProChile

The institution of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs promotes the supply of Chilean goods and services in the world. Thanks to its extensive international network, they also support the spread of investment opportunities in Chile and promote tourism. Its mission is to contribute to the sustainable development of the country through the internationalisation of Chilean companies and the promotion of goods and services, among other things.

Region Baden-Württemberg
Baden-Württemberg International

Baden-Württemberg International is the central location promotion agency for business and science in the state of Baden-Württemberg. Its goal is to make Baden-Württemberg even more visible, attractive and resilient as a location for business and science in global competition.

Start-up BW

Start-up BW is a state campaign of Baden-Württemberg with the aim of maintaining the competitiveness and economic strength of the state and, on the other hand, to strengthen its reputation as a start-up state nationally and internationally.

Merck Accelerator

The Accelerator is aimed at start-ups working on real problems in the focus areas of bio-sensing and interfaces, liquid biopsy, clean meat or AI-based health solutions.

Hub Start-up Entrepreneurship
Deep Tech Hub

Together with our partners from the start-up region Karlsruhe-Mannheim-Heidelberg, we have founded the Deep Tech Hub.

ZEISS

ZEISS is a leading global technology company in the optical and optoelectronic industry. ZEISS develops, produces and sells highly innovative solutions for industrial metrology and quality assurance, microscopy solutions for life sciences and materials research, and medical technology solutions for diagnostics and therapy in ophthalmology and microsurgery.

Global Horizon Program

Internationalisierung im Fokus

Die KIT-Gründerschmiedenstory geht auf das nächste Level – „International überzeugen“. Das Programm zur strategischen Internationalisierung der Gründungsförderung soll das KIT zur wichtigsten Schnittstelle zwischen Technologie-Start-ups aus dem Südwesten Deutschlands und den globalen Märkten machen.

Wo wollen wir hin?

Warum machen wir das?

GHPro zielt auf die Steigerung der Anzahl und der Qualität der Gründungen mit internationaler Ausrichtung, sei es durch z.B. die Herkunft, die Teams, die Partner oder die Märkte. Dazu wird das bisher nationale Angebot der KIT-Gründerschmiede strategisch ergänzt und international erweitert. Eine enge Kooperation und Zusammenarbeit mit exzellenten regionalen Partnern schafft ein Cluster, welches ein enormes technologisches und infrastrukturelles Potential mit einem großen Talentpool kombiniert. Im internationalen Wettbewerb erhöht sich dadurch die Sichtbarkeit gegenüber Großmetropolen wie San Francisco, Toronto, Singapur, London und den deutschen Metropolstädten. Mit der KIT-Gründerschmiede und GHPro hat das KIT nicht nur einen international sichtbare Strahlkraft, sondern ist zugleich aktiver Vermittler und Verstärker der regionalen Start-up-Ökonomie.

Mit wem machen wir das?

Initiative „DeepTech Startup Hub SouthWest“

Zu den regionalen Partnern gehören insbesondere die international anerkannten Universitäten Heidelberg und Mannheim aus der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar sowie die lokalen Hochschulen und Partner der Gründerallianz Karlsruhe.

 

Daneben hat das KIT zahlreiche strategische Industriepartner wie ABB, BASF, BOSCH, Daimler, SAP oder Zeiss, die teilweise eigene internationale Accelerator- und Inkubator-Programme betreiben und eine Kooperation suchen. Auf dieser breiten regionalen Basis aufbauend werden internationale Allianzen gebildet, die die Entwicklung von DeepTech Start-ups und den Austausch „in beide Richtungen“ unterstützen. Die Entwicklung und Etablierung des DeepTechHubs wird durch das EXIST-Programm des BMWi ausdrücklich unterstützt und gefördert.

01

Inbound

Diese Angebote richten sich an internationale Gründungsinteressierte und Start-ups, die den deutschen Gründungsstandort kennenlernen wollen, Anknüpfungspunkte in die Branche suchen oder einfach mit ihrem Produkt den deutschen Markt erobern wollen. Wir schlagen Brücken, vermitteln Ansprechpartner*innen und helfen mit unserem Know-how, um Start-ups den Start hier in Deutschland zu erleichtern.

Accelerator

Soft Landing

Internationale Gründungsinteressierte können in einer frühen Phase das KIT, das Start-up Ecosystem in Karlsruhe, den DeepTechHub und Baden-Württemberg kennenlernen. Im Fokus steht eine erste Prüfung des Geschäftsmodells und der Technologie. Gleichzeitig lernt ihr die Vorteile einer Ansiedelung in Deutschland und die damit verbundenen Förder- und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten kennen.

Erfahre mehr
Accelerator

ACCEL

Dein Start-up sucht individuell und passgenau auf dich zugeschnittene Acceleratoren, regional oder international? Dann komm zu ACCEK. Unser Fokus liegt auf middle- und later-stage-Acceleratoren, die gezielt bei der Skalierung des Business Modells und der Finanzierung des Unternehmens unterstützen.

Erfahre mehr
Vermittlung

CO-EVOLUTIONARY START-UP

Oftmals haben ausländische Unternehmen aufgrund mangelnder Größe, Sprachbarrieren und kultureller Unterschiede wenige Erfolgschancen im europäischen Markt Fuß zu fassen. Hier können ausländische Unternehmen mittels eines moderierten Prozesses und unter Einbindung lokaler Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und Studierenden, eine eigenständige Tochtergesellschaft bzw. ein Joint Venture gründen.

Erfahre mehr
02

Outbound

Start-ups aus dem KIT oder KIT-Umfeld wollen mit Ihrem Unternehmen ins Ausland umsiedeln, einen weiteren Standort eröffnen oder beispielsweise den amerikanischen, asiatischen oder indischen Markt erobern – bei diesem spannenden und komplexen Entwicklungsschritt unterstützen wir euch gerne. Schaut welches Angebot hier für euch am besten passt und wenn ihr keines findet, dann schreibt uns bitte direkt an.

Accelerator

ACCEL

Mit dem Modul ACCEL werden in einer Dimension die Kategorien Inbound und Outbound angesprochen. Hierbei wird ein Konzept entwickelt und umgesetzt, wie das KIT regionale und internationale Startups bestmöglich an middle- und later-stage-Acceleratoren vermitteln kann. Für eine internationale Expansion arbeiten wir eng mit ausgewählten Partner-Acceleratoren zusammen.

Erfahre mehr
Accelerator

Soft Landing

Analog zur Soft Landing Inbound bieten wir regional ansässigen Start-ups in einer frühen Phase die Möglichkeit, Gründerzentren an internationalen Partnerhochschulen und den jeweiligen internationalen Markt kennenzulernen. Ganz konkret werden regionale Start-ups unterstützt, sich schon früh international aufzustellen und international skalierbare Geschäftsmodelle zu identifizieren.

Erfahre mehr
03

Angebote vom KIT

Hier findest du spannende Programme, Veranstaltungen und Acceleratoren speziell für KIT-Studierende sowie KIT-Wissenschaftler*innen und KIT-Mitarbeiter*innen.

Veranstaltung

JOINT ENTREPRENEURSHIP SCHOOL (JES)

Die Joint Entrepreneurship School (JES) ist ein Austauschprogramm für Studierende des KIT und wird vom EnTechnon verantwortet. Im Rahmen der bereits etablierten JES haben Studierende des KIT und der Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) die Möglichkeit, in einem interkulturellen Umfeld gemeinsam an Projekten zu arbeiten.

Erfahre mehr
Wetbewerb

GROW

Du willst gründen, eigene Ideen weiterentwickeln und erfolgreich machen? Du arbeitest bereits an einem Projekt, aber etwas fehlt, um richtig durchzustarten? Dann bewirb dich bei GROW und wachse über dich hinaus.

Erfahre mehr
Seminar

Student Innovation Labs (SIL)

Du studierst und interessierst dich für das Thema angewandtes Innovationsmanagement? Dann werde Teil von SIL: zwei Semester Seminar und Labor, von der Idee zum Demonstrator.

Erfahre mehr
Accelerator

upCAT

Du hast bereits eine Idee für ein eigenes Unternehmen und brauchst Anschub, um diese zu verwirklichen? Dann bist du richtig bei unserem Start-up Catalyst – upCAT. Dieser Accelerator ist für Mitarbeitende von Partneruniversitäten und insbesondere für internationale Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler geöffnet. Bewirb dich jetzt! Weitere Infos folgen.

Erfahre mehr
04

Extras

Hier findest du spannende Events und Messen auf denen du dich mit deinem Start-up präsentieren kannst oder einfach als Gast vor Ort bist und interessante Netzwerkpartner oder Business-Kontakte kennenlernst.

Messe

Viva Technology Paris 2022

Gemeinsam mit unseren deutsch-französischen Partnern haben wir seit drei Jahren einen großen Gemeinschaftsstand auf der Viva Technology in Paris. Als KIT Start-up hast du die Möglichkeit Bestandteil unseres Auftrittes zu sein. Bewirb dich jetzt.

Blogbeiträge

News und Events

Hier findest du immer die aktuellsten Blogbeiträge rund um das Thema Internationalisierung mit Start-up, News, Acceleratoren-Programme und Wettbewerbe sowie spannende Events.

Mi, 05.05.2021 Daniela Musial-Lemberg

GLOBAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP SUMMER SCHOOL

Die Global Entrepreneurship Summer School (GESS) bildet seit über zehn Jahren in Zusammenarbeit mit sieben führenden universitären Entrepreneurship Zentren in München, Shanghai, Querétaro und Kapstadt junge und talentierte Studierende im Bereich Entrepreneurship aus. Dieses Jahr geht es um die Themen „Circular Systems“ und den Klimawandel. Das virtuelle und globale Programm findet vom 07.09. bis 11.09.2021 statt.

Wer begleitet uns?

Unsere Projektpartner

Förderprogramm
EXIST

EXIST ist ein Förderprogramm des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi). Ziel ist es, das Gründungsklima an Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen zu verbessern sowie die Anzahl und der Erfolg technologieorientierter und wissensbasierter Unternehmensgründungen zu erhöhen.

Förderprogramm
German Accelerator

German Accelerator befähigt deutsche Start-ups, global zu skalieren. Wir nehmen High-Potential-Unternehmen mit auf eine rasante Lernreise in einigen der weltweit führenden Innovationszentren.

Accelerator
Gründermotor

In der Gründermotor Meisterklasse entwickelt jedes Team sein Geschäftsmodell in ein skalier- und investmentfähiges Start-up. Die Meisterklasse vereint Start-ups, Corporates und Wissenschaft, um so die Gründerpersönlichkeiten und Wachstumsunternehmen von morgen zu formen.

Beteiligungen
Frauenhofer Venture

Fraunhofer Venture ist für das Ausgründungs- und Beteiligungsmanagement der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft e.V. – Europas größte Institution für angewandte Forschung – verantwortlich. Sie entwickeln aus Weltklasse-Hightech erfolgreiche Start-ups und bringen Innovationen in den Markt.

regionale Plattform
Gründerallianz

Die Gründerallianz ist die Gemeinschaft aller Player, die im Karlsruher Entrepreneurship-Bereich Rang und Namen haben. Als regionale Plattform bündelt sie alle Angebote und Informationen für Gründungsinteressierte

Soft Landing
ProChile

Die Institution des Außenministeriums fördert die Versorgung mit chilenischen Waren und Dienstleistungen in der Welt. Dank seines umfangreichen internationalen Netzwerks unterstützen sie zudem die Verbreitung von Investitionsmöglichkeiten in Chile und fördern den Tourismus. Seine Mission ist es, u.a. durch die Internationalisierung chilenischer Unternehmen und die Förderung von Waren und Dienstleistungen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung des Landes beizutragen.

Baden-Württemberg
Baden-Württemberg International

Baden-Württemberg International ist die zentrale Standortförderungsagentur für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Ziel ist es, Baden-Württemberg als Standort für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft im weltweiten Wettbewerb noch sichtbarer, attraktiver und widerstandsfähiger zu machen.

Kampagne
Start-up BW

Start-up BW ist eine Landeskampagne Baden-Württembergs mit dem Ziel, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und wirtschaftliche Stärke des Landes zu erhalten und zum anderen den Ruf als Gründerland national und international zu stärken.

Accelerator
Merck Accelerator

Der Accelerator richtet sich an Start-ups, die an realen Problemen in den Fokusbereichen Bio-Sensing und Interfaces, Liquid Biopsy, Clean Meat oder KI-gestützte Gesundheitslösungen arbeiten.

Hub Existenzgründung Unternehmertum
Deep Tech Hub

Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern der Gründerregion Karlsruhe-Mannheim-Heidelberg haben wir den Deep Tech Hub gegründet.

Technologie Wissenschaft
ZEISS

ZEISS ist ein weltweit führendes Technologieunternehmen der optischen und optoelektronischen Industrie. ZEISS entwickelt, produziert und vertreibt für seine Kunden hochinnovative Lösungen für die industrielle Messtechnik und Qualitätssicherung, Mikroskopielösungen für Lebenswissenschaften und Materialforschung sowie Medizintechniklösungen für Diagnostik und Therapie in der Augenheilkunde und der Mikrochirurgie.

Transatlantik
KIT-Link

Die Mission ist es, eine Brücke zwischen dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), einer von vier Exzellenzuniversitäten in Baden-Württemberg, und den USA, insbesondere der SFBA, zu schlagen.

BASF Chemie
Chemovator

Chemovator ist das Werkzeug der BASF, um Geschäftsideen im Frühstadium zu testen und unkonventionelle Wachstumsmöglichkeiten zu erkunden.
Sie liefern risikoarme und investitionsfähige Geschäftspläne für die BASF zur Internalisierung oder zur Gründung von BASF-Spin-off-Unternehmen.

Innovation Education Accelratoren
German Entrepreneurship

GERMAN ENTREPRENEURSHIP fördert Innovation in Unternehmen jeder Größe – vom DAX‑Konzern über den Mittelständler bis zum Start-up (mehr als 730 Startu-ps begleitet) . Sie betreiben bekannte Acceleratorenprogramme wie z.B. www.germanaccelerator.com und helfen Unternehmen beim Aufbau eigener Corporate Acceleratoren.